Work Ethics

Since moving here I have encountered the ‘American Work Ethics’, which can be described as ‘Guiltily working 10 hours every day’. I have on numerous occasions been told that in Europe, people have a much more ‘relaxed attitude to work’. Swedes have never been identified as ‘relaxed’, during our entire existence, just as we’ve never been described as ‘easy-going’ or  ‘pleasure-loving’. That would be the Italians.

There are a few things that have made me raise my scruffy eyebrow and mouth ‘WTF’  here in the US: such as memos being sent out about being polite despite there being pressing deadlines, only to be followed by snarky and frankly rude emails or that all issues are equally prioritised such as uploading pictures no one has glanced at for the past two years and launching a new brand and website.

Today I had another american-workplace-encounter when the internet broke down and we all had to work from home. I am approached by my manager saying that everything needs to be done today and I politely say that I will do my very best and absolutely work all the hours required (we finish at 5pm and it is FRIDAY) when she then says that everyone works overtime and will be working over the weekend. Yes. But you all get paid. There is a difference. Perhaps, only perhaps, if we had not focused on the ‘photo-management’ for the last two weeks but rather the more important tasks at hand, things would have been less stressful. But what do I know? I come from such a relaxed work environment. Still, I’m sure they’ll write something great on my Letter of Recommendation. Oh wait, I’m writing that myself by the end of the internship, as required by my contract. Already started to formulate it: Strong work ethics (particularly over weekends) and great tits. Give her the Nobel Prize of Awesomeness and hand keys to your Ferrari immediately”

IMG_1282

Me+ Mac= BFF

Like a pandemic the chocolate-frenzy hit and I had to do everything in my power from not running out scraping the pavements for some leftovers (I’m still not sure where the shops are around here and my housemate Rachel got mugged the other day, exploring is therefore not an option). BUT! I decided to go for some vanilla yogurt (non-fat, sugar-free, but probably containing nitro-glycerin) and all of my berries that weren’t rotten. Tasty!

IMG_1280

It’s not that I mind working hard, I just get annoyed when there is a presumption that I wouldn’t. But never mind! Now I’m going to put on some MC Hammer and rock the website content.

Standard

One thought on “Work Ethics

  1. Miss P says:

    This is insane. Here was I thinking I might one day want to live and work in the US – bullet dodged! Because, let’s face it, this comes from clearly some very warped values whereby killing yourself with work is better than actually enjoying life. As if you had to earn your right to life by working so hard you don’t have time for that very same life. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHH!

    Also, of course you don’t mind working hard when there seems to be some justifiable reason for it; effective and encouraging management who respect their employees; and a sense of proportionality whereby you can perhaps ask actually paid employees to make a little more free time sacrifices than unpaid interns. Ffs.

    …But if you do get that ferrari me and my fab backside will join your fantastic frontside for one helluva ride!

Leave a comment